Elatsoe

I am, and have been since discovering Agatha Christie in grade 9 English, a mystery reader.  I also love stories of magic that happen to regular people in the kinds of places I can recognize.  A new story by Indigenous author, Darcie Little Badger, combines these two.  Ellie, the main character, lives in a world like our own, but shaped by magic, myth, and monsters that are real.  Alongside everyday Read More …

Shadow and Bone

An older favourite, now a Netflix series.  This is the first book of the GrishaVerse.  Alina is an orphan of the wars, a nobody, now a soldier and cartographer in the King’s Army.  Dividing her country from the coastline is the Shadow Fold, on maps shown as a black slash, magically formed and home to dangerous flying creatures called volcra.  Any journey through the Fold was dangerous, approached with caution, Read More …

Tremendous Things

A new favourite: for fans of We Are All Made of Molecules and Optimists Die First, Susin Nielsen’s newest book will be welcome.  Wilbur Nunez-Knopf, almost 15, lives in Toronto with his moms.  On his first day of grade 7, in a new city, in a new school (his first after being homeschooled), Wilbur’s teacher asked his students to “Write a letter to yourself.  Debscribe who you are today.  Then Read More …

Mountain Reads 2022 – (Re)Discover a New Favourite

It is that time.  A new set of titles that Mountain (that’s you!) should read.  Fiction and non-fiction, junior and senior; there’s something for everyone.  Keep track of your Mountain Reads reading through the next months for a chance to win in the spring.  Yes – there will be prizes: both edible and spendable!  Along with reading the books, there will be opportunities to show off your artistic ability, designing Read More …

Autumn and rain and …

Here we are, in the middle of October.  The past month and a half has flown by as we have come back and yet again are getting used to another new schedule.  The semester system seems awfully full.  I know some of you are finding it hard to find time to breathe, let alone take a break.  But for your own sake, set aside some relaxation time – even if Read More …

National Poetry Month

April is National Poetry Month in Canada.  This year, the chosen theme is Resilience.  The past year has been a challenge for all of us.  Yet here we are, continuing to get up every day, come to school, work and learn, and find ways to spend time with our friends and loved ones.  Yes, we have been (maybe learned to be) resilient. From the League of Canadian Poets: “What does Read More …

Audiobooks

We now have audiobooks in the library learning commons.  The digital kind.  The kind you download to your phone and take with you.  There are books you might be reading with your class in English and books that are just for your enjoyment. I am a big audiobook fan.  It’s probably because I spend a lot of my time doing things that I would rather replace with reading.  And so Read More …