Alpha Library is on Instagram

Alpha Library has officially joined Instagram. Follow us @alphalibrary for updates on library events, new books, contests, and more!

Categories: Library News | Tags: , , , , | Comments Off on Alpha Library is on Instagram

Pink Shirt Day 2017

February 22nd, 2017 is Pink Shirt Day, a time when students, teachers and the community come together to combat bullying. In honour of this day, come check-out our selection of books related to bullying.

For more information about Pink Shirt Day, check out: http://pinkshirtday.ca/

 

Categories: Library Events, Recommended Reads | Tags: , , , , , , , | Comments Off on Pink Shirt Day 2017

Spotting Fake News

In the Trump age of “alternative facts”, how can you tell if something is real or not when you find it on the Internet? This infographic from IFLA’s blog is here to help!

 

[gview file=”http://blogs.sd41.bc.ca/alpha-library/files/2017/02/How-to-Spot-Fake-News.pdf”]

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | Comments Off on Spotting Fake News

Alpha Reads Trailers

Not sure which Alpha Read is for you? Check out the book trailers below made by Ms. Manhas’ Honours 9 English class. They give you a glimpse into each book’s plot and can help you figure out which one to read first!










 

Categories: Alpha Reads, Library Events | Tags: , , , , | Comments Off on Alpha Reads Trailers

Alpha Reads Ballots

After you finish reading one of our ten Alpha Reads for 2017, make sure to fill in a ballot to be entered to win weekly prizes, and a grand prize in May! 

(you may enter once for each book you read from the list)

Categories: Alpha Reads, Library Events | Comments Off on Alpha Reads Ballots

Blind Date With a Book

Need something to do this Valentine’s Day? Come by the library and try a blind date with a book. 

You might be thinking, “What’s a blind date with a book?”… Well, we have wrapped up a number of our most popular titles and the only way you can pick your “date” is by the few word description on the front. Now you quite literally can’t judge a book by its cover. You just have to go with your gut and make a split second decision about whether or not the book is right for you.  Let us know if your date is a dud, or a complete hit!

Check out some readers finding out the true identity of their blind date books in the video below.

Categories: Library Events | Tags: , , , , , | Comments Off on Blind Date With a Book

Alpha Reads 2017

With the beginning of semester 2 comes the launch of our new Alpha Reads! 10 amazing titles have been chosen that include sci-fi, fantasy, realism and everything in between.

Check out the video below for some information about this year’s picks and remember to take a ballot and enter our draw every time you read one of the 2017 titles. There will be a weekly Friday draw for small prizes as well as a GRAND PRIZE draw in May. So get reading!

 

Categories: Alpha Reads, Book recommendations, Library Events | Tags: , , , , , , | Comments Off on Alpha Reads 2017

Ms. Haigh Reads – Under a Painted Sky

under-the-painted-sky-by-stacey-lee-on-bookdragon-via-bookslut

Under a Painted Sky by Stacey Lee is an exhilarating western filled with numerous twists, turns and near misses. Set during the California gold rush, the story follows the unlikely pairing of two young women: a young Chinese fiddle player and a runaway black slave who must fight to stay alive. Brought together by unfortunate circumstances the girls lean on each other as they begin the treacherous journey West towards safety and a potentially better life. Pretending to be boys to keep their identities hidden, the girls befriend a group of young cowboys and struggle to learn the pioneering skills necessary to stay alive. This is a book filled with painful moments of racism, the power of friendship and the difficulty of unrequited love. But most of all, it is about adventure, survival and the ability we all have to surprise ourselves with our own strength. Though the events are at times implausible, it is still a good read if you enjoy exciting stories about the Wild West.

Categories: Book recommendations, Recommended Reads | Tags: , , , , , , , , | Comments Off on Ms. Haigh Reads – Under a Painted Sky

It’s Beginning to Look a lot Like Christmas

The library is all decorated and ready for some holiday cheer. Remember, if you are looking for something to read during the holidays, books can be taken home over the break. So get ready to put up your feet and enjoy some reading and relaxation!

img_2460

Categories: Library News | Comments Off on It’s Beginning to Look a lot Like Christmas

Ms. Haigh Reads – We All Looked Up

we-all-looked-up-9781481418775_hr

In We All Looked Up by Tommy Wallach an astroid called Ardor is barrelling towards Earth and has a 66.6% chance of destroying the world forever.  Told from 4 different points of view, the story follows 6 high school students as they come to terms with the possibility that their lives are over in a few weeks. With the Apocalypse looming, the main characters make the most of the little time they have left and go after the things they`ve always wanted, causing their lives to intersect in unusual ways. Suddenly the dead-beat is hanging out with the straight A student, and the star basketball player is second guessing his relationship with the popular beauty. But as they work to maintain a human connection, the world around them starts spinning out of control, with violence and destruction at every turn.

Though this story is about the end of the world, it is actually quite hopeful and is filled with lots of humour, friendship and love.

Recommended for fans of Eleanor and Park and We Were Liars.

Warning: some mature content, so recommended for 15+

Categories: Book recommendations, Recommended Reads | Tags: , , , , , , , | Comments Off on Ms. Haigh Reads – We All Looked Up